Christmas Blog hop–Triple Ginger Cream Cookies–a historical cookie that’s not just for men

Thank you to Heather McCallum for organizing this wonderful blog hop! Here’s the link to go back if you need it! https://www.facebook.com/events/727125820995433/

This cookie is my favorite cookie of all time. I cannot turn down anything that involves the combination of ginger and buttercream. When I was growing up, these were considered Christmas cookies in my house. They could be made at any time of year, but for some reason, my mother made them just at Christmas. They are easy and if you have loved ones who live far away and love them, they are easily shipped–as the ad attests. I have made some changes from this old-fashioned Betty Crocker recipe put out during the war effort of World War II.  You can bake the cookies as is in the recipe (with a whole egg of course–they were rationing back then)  and add the following:

GingerCreamsBettyCrocker

To the finished cookie batter (before you chill it for an hour) you can add a 1/4 cup of minced crystallized ginger and a 1/4 cup of ginger paste. You can find ginger paste in the produce section. Some go for shredding ginger root. You can do that as well, but I haven’t tried it.

Frosting for the cookies should NOT be thin or optional!  You could buy a canned vanilla or lemon frosting, if you wish but I frost them with a simple buttercream frosting:

2 cups confectioner’s sugar, 1/4 cup butter, 1 teaspoon vanilla and 1 tablespoon milk.

Once you’ve frosted the cookies, you can sprinkle red and green Christmas jimmies on them. That’s what my mother did for a cookie swap once. I’m not sure that I’ve forgiven her for letting those cookies go out of the door. 🙂

Here’s the list of links for the Christmas Cookie Blog Hop! It’s on to Julie Johnstone from here! Good luck!

Holiday Cookie Exchange Hop Links

Lara Archer http://laraarcher.com
Katharine Ashe https://katharineashe.com/extras/cookies-fit-for-a-prince/
Lori Ann Bailey http://loriannbailey.com/christmas-eve-cookies/
Tammy L. Bailey https://www.tammylbailey.com/
Katherine Bone https://m.facebook.com/AuthorKatherineBone/
Liana De la Rosa https://www.facebook.com/LianainBloom/
Elizabeth Essex https://www.facebook.com/elizabeth.essex.37/
Tina Gabrielle https://www.facebook.com/TinaGabrielle
Virginia Heath https://www.facebook.com/virginiaheathauthor/
Piper Huguley http://piperhuguley.com
Julie Johnstone https://www.facebook.com/authorjuliejohnstone/
Kris Kennedy https://www.kriskennedy.net/Blogsm
Elizabeth Keysian https://elizabethkeysian.com/
Tara Kingston https://www.facebook.com/TaraKingstonAuthor/
Eliza Knight https://eknightauthor.com/2018/12/cookie-exchange-hop/
Elizabeth Langston http://www.elizabethlangston.net/holiday-hop/
Jeannie Lin http://www.jeannielin.com/blog/
Diana Lloyd www.diana-lloyd.com
Nicole Locke https://www.facebook.com/NicoleLockeAuthor
Alanna Lucas https://www.facebook.com/AuthorAlannaLucas/
Deb Marlowe http://www.debmarlowe.com/historical-holiday-cookie-hop.html
Madeline Martin http://www.madelinemartin.com/blog/
Heather McCollum https://www.heathermccollum.com/kitchen/
Maddison Michaels https://www.facebook.com/MaddisonMichaelsAuthor/
April Moran https://www.facebook.com/AuthorAprilMoran
Kate Parker https://www.facebook.com/Author.Kate.Parker/      
Emma Prince https://www.EmmaPrinceBooks.com
Vanessa Riley http://vanessariley.com/blog/2018/12/04/3-ingredient-peanut-butter-cookies/
Ava Stone http://www.avastoneauthor.com/ava-s-scandalous-oatmeal-cookies
Jennifer Trethewey https://www.facebook.com/jennifertretheweyromance/
Victoria Vane www.victoriavane.com/blog
Harmony Williams www.harmonywilliams.com/xmas-hop

4 thoughts on “Christmas Blog hop–Triple Ginger Cream Cookies–a historical cookie that’s not just for men

  1. It’s so rare that one can find a recipe that ships well…usually they arrive all broken up! lol Thank you so much for sharing this recipe with us, Piper, I love anything that has ginger/cloves/cinnamon!! Merry Christmas to you and yours xox

Leave a Reply to Lisa Lickel Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s